KTBYTE Computer Science Academy >> Classes >> FUN3a

FUN3a

Intro to Processing

Class Description:

Prerequisites:

Dino Jump created in Processing: The dino needs to jump past the cactuses to win points. The collision detection in the game is typed manually rather than have it provided in Scratch.

Making Circles Game created in Processing: Clicking on various locations creates a circle.

Saturation Game created in Processing: This is a demo of a button, in the form of a white rectangle, and the use of manual detection of clicks that changes the saturation of the red background.

Brick Drop Game created in Processing: This game is a demo of how lists work.

Clock timer created in Processing

Laser Show Pattern created in Processing: This illustration randomizes RGB values, and draws it frame by frame. The lines are loops that loop through end points for each straight line, which creates the curved pattern.

Platformer Game created in Processing: Character jumping on platforms (In-Class game demo).

Rainbow Animation created in Processing: Rectangles are drawn from left to right. The color is determined by the x position, and the cursor acts as an offset.

Scrolling Text animation created in Processing: The text moves upward, followed by an image.

Fun3a Week 2 Demo Capstone: Click to view project!

Fun3a CW 3 Capstone Demo: Click to view project!

Fun3a Week 4 Capstone Demo: Click to view project!

Fun3a Week 5 Capstone Demo: Click to view project!

FUN3a Classwork #6 End Of Class: Click to view project!

FUN3a Classwork #8 End Of Class: Click to view project!

Fun3a Week 11 Demo Capstone: Click to view project!

Fun3a Week 12 Demo Capstone: Click to view project!

Class Project(s)
Students will have an introduction to classes and create object-oriented projects.
Homework/Quizzes
75% Required Homework

25% Optional Homework

Quizzes

Our Proprietary In-Browser Coding Platform.

The KTBYTE team developed the KTCoder™ with our students in mind! Most coding classes require software downloads, which is difficult and a hassle for young students. Our platform supports Processing, Javablocks™, HTML/CSS, and a bunch of libraries (like Soundcipher and Fiscia!). This revolutionary all-in-one coding platform supports our interactive online classes, our specialized curriculum, and (most importantly) our student's passion for learning.
Office Hours with Teacher's Assistants
Office hours are led by our highly qualified teaching assistants. It is an easy and free way to get immediate feeback on your code. Our homework is difficult - office hours can help you overcome obstacles and develop a stronger understanding of the material!
Class Recordings
We provide recordings of our classes for if a student misses or needs to re-listen to a class.
Student Progress Report
KTBYTE will e-mail parents with behavior and grade progess reports.

About FUN3a :

Syllabus

Introduction to Variables

This is the introductory lesson for Fun 3. It is expected that at this point, our students will be have some passing familiarity with programming, at least through a block based UI, like Scratch or JavaBlocks. In this lesson we will be introducing the way Processing works, and create some strong links between it and those GUI processes. We will be creating a canvas, giving it a background color, and then modifying the color through the "Draw" function.

SlideShow

A Boolean value is a statement that either resolves to a True or False. It can be a math equation, or a comparison, but it has to have only one of two possible results. A simple example of a Boolean that returns "true" would be "2 + 2 == 4". This is a statement that always returns true because 2 and 2 always results in 4. We will be using Boolean values to change the color of our screen depending on where the mouse is on the screen.

Make a Button

In this lesson, we will be making a button, and defining its action. Unlike in Scratch, a button is not an automatically defined object. Instead, we're going to have to create it both physically and behavior-wise. While the first part is trivial, the defining button behavior can be tricky.

Make a Function

A function is a way to compartmentalize and re-organize our code. We can create special blocks of code, name them, the "call" them in the main body of our code. In this class, we replace our normal "Draw" function with several calls to other smaller functions which act as individual "draw" functions. We can use a single funciton to call many smaller commands, and draw complex shapes with a single function! Today, we will be designing robot heads, then moving them with control functions!

More Functions

Today, we will continue learning more about functions. We will explore writing and using functions with inputs, and make a project that allows you to stamp images on the canvas.

Beginning Pong

In this class, we begin the task of making the classic video game: PONG

Continuing Pong

Now that we've built the rough outline of Pong, its time to start filling it in and adding some polish. We will add a reset function, a score, some cosmetic details, and even a game over screen.

Pong with AI

Now that we have our game of PONG working, lets see how we can program a computer AI to be our opponent.

Fortune Teller and Arrays

Students will be learning about how to create, populate, and utilize arrays. Once they learn the basic structures, they will be use an array or strings to create a forutne-teller or magic eight-ball.

Bebras Challenge day!

Today, we will be participating in the global computation challenge known as the "Bebras Challenge". Students will be tasked with solving computation problems at various skill levels. For every tier that a student completes, they will receive a certificate stating their completion of the challenge.

While Loops

This week, we will be looking at the most basic of loops, the “While” loop. To demonstrate how much time and effort we can save by using this loop, we are going to create a neat art project that uses the loop to draw hundreds of lines. Students will really appreciate not having to do all that work by hand!

For Loops

This week, we will be learning how to make a "for loop" to allow us to count, repeat, and iterate on code. We will first learn how to use the loop to count, then we will use the loop in conjunction with various shapes, like rectangles, ellipses, triangles, and lines to create geometric wallpapers for our computer!

Rain Drop Project

Now that we learned a bit about For loops, lets use them to make a project where we simulate rain falling. We'll use arrays to keep track of the position of droplets and make it so we can add more rain drops as simply as changing one value.

Projects

Students chose web game and we analyzed them and broke them down into their component parts.

Projects Continued

Work on your projects during class.

Show All Show Less

All Class Times

COUPON:

SUCCESSFULLY APPLIED!

PREVIOUS COUPON:

Classes Starting Soon
Classes in Session

Workshop

20201001FUN3ao0700pm

1 Hour Trial Class

7:00 PM - 8:00 PM ET

Main Teacher:
William Kandianis

$0/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Thursday, 2020-10-01 [07:00 PM - 08:00 PM ET]

* Office Hours Included. See time on the bottom of website.

9-Week Full Semester

20201006FUN3ao0730pm

Tue Oct 6 - Tue Dec 8

7:30 PM - 9:30 PM ET

$1120/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Tuesday, 2020-10-06 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 2: Tuesday, 2020-10-13 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 3: Tuesday, 2020-10-20 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 4: Tuesday, 2020-10-27 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 5: Tuesday, 2020-11-03 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 6: Tuesday, 2020-11-10 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 7: Tuesday, 2020-11-17 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 8: Tuesday, 2020-12-01 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 9: Tuesday, 2020-12-08 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

20201007FUN3ao0530pm

Wed Oct 7 - Wed Dec 9

5:30 PM - 7:30 PM ET

Main Teacher:
Jennifer Ravasia

$1120/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Wednesday, 2020-10-07 [05:30 PM - 07:30 PM ET]

Lesson 2: Wednesday, 2020-10-14 [05:30 PM - 07:30 PM ET]

Lesson 3: Wednesday, 2020-10-21 [05:30 PM - 07:30 PM ET]

Lesson 4: Wednesday, 2020-10-28 [05:30 PM - 07:30 PM ET]

Lesson 5: Wednesday, 2020-11-04 [05:30 PM - 07:30 PM ET]

Lesson 6: Wednesday, 2020-11-11 [05:30 PM - 07:30 PM ET]

Lesson 7: Wednesday, 2020-11-18 [05:30 PM - 07:30 PM ET]

Lesson 8: Wednesday, 2020-12-02 [05:30 PM - 07:30 PM ET]

Lesson 9: Wednesday, 2020-12-09 [05:30 PM - 07:30 PM ET]

20201008FUN3ao0400pm

Thu Oct 8 - Thu Dec 10

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM ET

Main Teacher:
Chase S

$1120/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Thursday, 2020-10-08 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 2: Thursday, 2020-10-15 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 3: Thursday, 2020-10-22 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 4: Thursday, 2020-10-29 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 5: Thursday, 2020-11-05 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 6: Thursday, 2020-11-12 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 7: Thursday, 2020-11-19 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 8: Thursday, 2020-12-03 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 9: Thursday, 2020-12-10 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

20201009FUN3ao0730pm

Fri Oct 9 - Fri Dec 11

7:30 PM - 9:30 PM ET

Main Teacher:
Harpreet Kaur

$1120/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Friday, 2020-10-09 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 2: Friday, 2020-10-16 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 3: Friday, 2020-10-23 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 4: Friday, 2020-10-30 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 5: Friday, 2020-11-06 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 6: Friday, 2020-11-13 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 7: Friday, 2020-11-20 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 8: Friday, 2020-12-04 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

Lesson 9: Friday, 2020-12-11 [07:30 PM - 09:30 PM ET]

20201010FUN3ao0400pm

Sat Oct 10 - Sat Dec 12

4:00 PM - 6:00 PM ET

Main Teacher:
Chase S

$1120/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Saturday, 2020-10-10 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 2: Saturday, 2020-10-17 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 3: Saturday, 2020-10-24 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 4: Saturday, 2020-10-31 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 5: Saturday, 2020-11-07 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 6: Saturday, 2020-11-14 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 7: Saturday, 2020-11-21 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 8: Saturday, 2020-12-05 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

Lesson 9: Saturday, 2020-12-12 [04:00 PM - 06:00 PM ET]

20201010FUN3ao0800pm

Sat Oct 10 - Sat Dec 12

8:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET

Main Teacher:
Aaron Ye

$1120/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Saturday, 2020-10-10 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 2: Saturday, 2020-10-17 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 3: Saturday, 2020-10-24 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 4: Saturday, 2020-10-31 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 5: Saturday, 2020-11-07 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 6: Saturday, 2020-11-14 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 7: Saturday, 2020-11-21 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 8: Saturday, 2020-12-05 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 9: Saturday, 2020-12-12 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

* Office Hours Included. See time on the bottom of website.

1 hour / a week (18 hours in 18 weeks)

20200910FUN3ao0520pm

Thu Sep 10 - Jan 28

5:20 PM - 6:20 PM ET

15 lessons remaining

Main Teacher:
George Zakka

$933/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Thursday, 2020-09-10 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 2: Thursday, 2020-09-17 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 3: Thursday, 2020-09-24 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 4: Thursday, 2020-10-01 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 5: Thursday, 2020-10-08 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 6: Thursday, 2020-10-15 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 7: Thursday, 2020-10-22 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 8: Thursday, 2020-10-29 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 9: Thursday, 2020-11-05 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 10: Thursday, 2020-11-12 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 11: Thursday, 2020-11-19 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 12: Thursday, 2020-12-03 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 13: Thursday, 2020-12-10 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 14: Thursday, 2020-12-17 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 15: Thursday, 2021-01-07 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 16: Thursday, 2021-01-14 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 17: Thursday, 2021-01-21 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

Lesson 18: Thursday, 2021-01-28 [05:20 PM - 06:20 PM ET]

202009FUN3aSat1145am

Sat Sep 12 - Jan 30

11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET

15 lessons remaining

Main Teacher:
Mark Heymann

$933/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Saturday, 2020-09-12 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 2: Saturday, 2020-09-19 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 3: Saturday, 2020-09-26 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 4: Saturday, 2020-10-03 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 5: Saturday, 2020-10-10 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 6: Saturday, 2020-10-17 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 7: Saturday, 2020-10-24 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 8: Saturday, 2020-10-31 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 9: Saturday, 2020-11-07 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 10: Saturday, 2020-11-14 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 11: Saturday, 2020-11-21 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 12: Saturday, 2020-12-05 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 13: Saturday, 2020-12-12 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 14: Saturday, 2020-12-19 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 15: Saturday, 2021-01-09 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 16: Saturday, 2021-01-16 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 17: Saturday, 2021-01-23 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

Lesson 18: Saturday, 2021-01-30 [11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET]

* Office Hours Included. See time on the bottom of website.

9-Week Full Semester

20200911FUN3ao0800pm

Fri Sep 11 - Fri Nov 6

8:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET

6 lessons remaining

Main Teacher:
April Ye

$746/session

With Coupon: $----

ENROLL

Show Lesson Times Hide Lesson Times

Lesson 1: Friday, 2020-09-11 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 2: Friday, 2020-09-18 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 3: Friday, 2020-09-25 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 4: Friday, 2020-10-02 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 5: Friday, 2020-10-09 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 6: Friday, 2020-10-16 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 7: Friday, 2020-10-23 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 8: Friday, 2020-10-30 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

Lesson 9: Friday, 2020-11-06 [08:00 PM - 10:00 PM ET]

* Office Hours Included. See time on the bottom of website.